Tennessee Titans: 30 greatest players in franchise history

(Photo by Joe Murphy/NFLPhotoLibrary)
(Photo by Joe Murphy/NFLPhotoLibrary) /
1 of 31
Eddie George, Tennessee Titans
(Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images) /

The Tennessee Titans can date their history back to being an original AFL franchise as the then-Houston Oilers. Here are their 30 best players of all-time.

While the NFL has only been in The Volunteer State since the late 1990s, the Tennessee Titans have had themselves and impressive history. Founded as an expansion AFL franchise in 1960 as the then-Houston Oilers, this club has put way more players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame than one would expect.

To date, 14 players who have played for the Oilers/Titans have been enshrined in Canton, 11 of which made significant contributions to the Houston/Tennessee franchise on their way to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Unfortunately, that hasn’t always translated to winning. This franchise might have two championships under its belt. However, that came in its first two years of existence as the Oilers in 1960 and 1961.

It took until 1999 for the rebranded Titans to reach the franchise’s first trip to the Super Bowl. Tennessee came up a yard short to the then-St. Louis Rams in the old Georgia Dome in Atlanta, falling to Dick Vermeil’s “Greatest Show on Turf” team in Super Bowl XXXIV.

Entering 2018, the Titans snapped a nine-year AFC playoff drought by making it in as the No. 5 seed. Tennessee shocked the Kansas City Chiefs in Arrowhead Stadium on Wild Card Weekend before ultimately falling to the New England Patriots in Foxborough a week later.

Tennessee would then make a coaching change, moving on from Mike Mularkey in favor of former Houston Texans defensive coordinator Mike Vrabel this past offseason. With a solid defense and a good, young offensive corps, the Titans look to be in good shape to close out the decade.

As they approach 60 years of existence and 20 in Nashville, let’s take a look back at the 30 greatest players in Oilers/Titans history. What you will find is a list that is more impressive than you think, given the franchise’s lack of success in the postseason in the last 50+ years.

Honorable Mentions: Tony Banfield, Dave Casper, Al Del Greco, Fred Glick, Ed Husmann, Al Jamison, Haywood Jeffires, Billy Johnson, Taylor Lewan, Kevin Mawae, Mike Rozier, Bob Schmidt, Al Smith, George Webster, Vince Young