Oct 30, 2011; Nashville, TN, USA; Tennessee Titans linebacker Patrick Bailey (57) blocks the punt of Indianapolis Colts punter Pat McAfee (1) during the first half at LP Field. Mandatory Credit: Don McPeak-USA TODAY Sports

Tennessee Titans Name 6 Team Captains for 2013-14 NFL Season


Tennessee Titans: 6 Team Captains Named for 2013-14 NFL Season

Jake Locker (Offense)
Nate Washington (Offense)
Michael Roos (Offense)
Bernard Pollard (Defense)
Jason McCourty (Defense)
Patrick Bailey (Special Teams)

These are the six team captains for the 2013-14 Tennessee Titans, as Jim Wyatt of The Tennessean reported on Sep. 4. There are three offensive captains, two defensive captains and a special teams captain. Patrick Bailey earned the special teams honors after Tim Shaw failed to make the 53-man roster out of training camp.

Among those who are returning as captains are Jason McCourty and Jake Locker. Last season’s captains also included Colin McCarthy, Steve Hutchinson and Shaw. McCarthy will start this season listed behind Moise Fokou on the depth chart.

What a roller coaster ride for Nate Washington. In six months, Washington has gone from rumors about the team wanting to trade him to winning a starting job and an honor as a team captain. Maybe a tad surprising when one considers that some people weren’t expecting him to survive the final cuts out of training camp. A solid preseason all-but-clinched his spot.

What do fans think about the captains? Does it matter? Were there any other players who you would’ve expected to win this honor? Discuss in the comments, Twitter or Facebook.

Next Titans Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 99 Nov1:00at Baltimore RavensBuy Tickets

Tags: NFL Tennessee Titans

comments powered by Disqus