Derrick Morgan was given this years Ed Block Courage Award

Derrick Morgan Receives Titans' Ed Block Courage Award

Morgan’s teammates elected him this years Ed Block Courage Award winner. Last year during Morgan’s rookie season he suffered a torn ACL, ending a promising rookie campaign. The award is presented to one player from every team that exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage.

Via the Tennessean:

Morgan, the Titans’ 2010 first-round pick, leads the team with 19 quarterback pressures in 2011 and has notched 44 tackles,
two sacks, three stops for loss and two passes defensed. He is a part of a defensive unit that currently ranks seventh in the
NFL in scoring defense, allowing an average of 19.7 points per contest.

Previous Titans recipients of the award include Steve McNair (1999), Kenny Holmes (2000), Kevin Dyson (2001), Eddie
George (2002), Kevin Carter (2003), Keith Bulluck (2004), Tank Williams (2005), Brandon Jones (2006), David Thornton
(2007), Chris Hope (2008), Kevin Mawae (2009) and Will Witherspoon(2010).

Morgan has come back this season from the torn ACL as well as a scoping on the same knee after they discovered early in the season that there was troublesome scar tissue remaining from the surgery that needed to be removed for his knee to be functioning and comfortable.

It’s great to see that Morgan leads the team in quarterback pressures, as his stats have been rather lack luster otherwise and his presence unnoticed by most Titans fans. Hopefully this next season he turns those pressures into sacks.


You can find me on Twitter @JustinLStewart or @Titan_Sized. We’re also on Facebook!





Next Titans Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct12:00Houston TexansBuy Tickets

Tags: Derrick Morgan Ed Block Courage Award News Tennessee Titans

comments powered by Disqus